Day 37

 

Urtica dioica.  The Stinging Nettle.  These plants are definitely on my enemy list.

I’d heard of stinging nettles when I first moved over to Wales, but had no idea that they were plants.  Their name implies to much activity for a plant.  Plants that hurt you have names like poison ivy, poison sumac.  Passive names.  I figured that stinging nettles were insects.  Then I ran up a hill covered in them.  Wearing a bathing suit.  They certainly felt like insects.

The nettles are just starting to come up again.  I hear they make a good soup at this time of year, but I’m not interested enough to don the gloves and go out picking.  At least they’re nice and short and don’t sting your knuckles while you walk…yet.

Leave a Reply

