Day 104

Does anyone know what these are?  They’re white lumps that were growing on (out of?) the branches of the oak trees in the park.  Are they oak galls?  And just what is an oak gall, anyway?

4 responses to “Day 104

  1. I’ve never heard of an oak gall. That looks odd, though! I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything like that around here.

  2. Is it some sort of larval nest? What was inside of it? I’ve never seen anything like it before.

  3. Ooo! I know what oak galls are!! Pick me! Pick me!

    They’re growths that form around where the gall wasp has laid its eggs within an oak tree’s buds (they lay them when the buds are just beginning to form). They look like little round nuts – maybe an inch or two in diameter.

    I’ve never seen them growing on a tree, only when they’ve fallen/been picked off, so I couldn’t say if that’s what that is. Pick a couple, let ’em dry, mix them with a little iron sulphate and see if you can make ink. If you can, they’re galls.

  4. My husband said was something to do with wasps….

Leave a Reply

